Union Structure

The CWU is structured into various divisions and as a member it is important that you know and understand how the Union operates.


Branches are based on grouping together workers in a company, based on geographic location. Every Branch elects a Committee at its Annual General Meeting. The Committee meets on a regular basis.


Some of the larger regional Branches are divided up further into Sections, also based on geographic location. The elected Section officials make up the Branch Committee, which are elected at the Annual General Meeting.

National Executive Council

The National Executive Council (“NEC”) is comprised of a maximum of 32 members and is elected at the Union’s Biennial Conference. The NEC is the democratically elected governing body of the Union and sets Union policy and oversees the implementation of conference decisions.


The Union has a number of full-time officials whose primary role is to be available to represent the members in negotiations and to provide advice. Some of these officials, the National Officers, also have responsibility for the overall day-to-day running of the Union. The General Secretary, Steve Fitzpatrick, is the top official in the Union.

Biennial Conference

The Union holds a conference once every two years where representatives of each Branch, known as delegates, meet to discuss issues of concern to members and decide on policy.

Head Office

The Union’s head office is based in Dublin and this is where the Union’s full-time officials and administration staff are located.